KSP Celebrates Telecommunications Academy Graduates, Post 13 Welcomes Two Telecommunications | News

Recently, 12 telecommunications graduates from the KSP Telecommunications Academy, including Cameron Brown and Ryan Cox, both of Perry County.

Governor Andy Beshear and the Kentucky State Police (KSP) announced on February 18 that eleven telecommunications carriers representing six positions across the Commonwealth have graduated from the KSP Telecommunications Academy. Among the graduates were two people from Perry County, Ryan Cox and Cameron Brown.

“Community carriers are critical to the Commonwealth. I have witnessed this firsthand during the recent tornadoes and winter storms that have affected our communities. There is no doubt that these new carriers will be the heroes behind the helmet when our citizens need them most,” Governor Beshear said.

Class 19 graduates received 160 hours of instruction over four weeks. Major areas of training included legal liability, limits of carrier authority, role of the carrier in public safety, interpersonal communications, customer service, stress management, ethics and confidentiality , responder safety, basic fire dispatch, state emergency operation plans, criminal justice information systems, cardiopulmonary resuscitation, first aid training, emergency medical dispatch and callers with special needs.

During the academy, graduates were expected to successfully handle scripted calls for service and demonstrate the ability to obtain relevant information, dispatch responders, provide emergency medical dispatch if needed, and properly document service information. the call for help. The training ended with a computer simulation system that simulates their working environment in the radio room.

“State police station telecommunications providers provide a link and a lifeline for the public to vital emergency services,” said KSP telecommunications training instructor Jason Long. “They are the unseen, but often heard, first responders to any incident and provide vital information at all times,” he continued.

Pennsylvania Supreme Court chooses Congressional map proposed by state voters

Health Facts: February 24, 2022

Class 19 graduates and their assigned positions include: Logan Smith, post 2, Madisonville; Pamela English, Post 2, Madisonville; Matthew Ray, Ext. 2, Madisonville; Darrie Parker, Post 2, Madisonville; Jordan Thronson, Post 4, Elizabethtown; Mary Owens, Post 9, Pikeville; Abbie Carden, Post 9, Pikeville; Erik Lefevers, ext. 10, Harlan; Ryan Cox, Post 13, Hazard; Cameron Brown, Ext. 13, Hazard; and Payeton Fish, Post 16, Henderson.

Post 13 graduates of the 19th KSP Telecommunications Academy included Ryan Cox and Cameron Brown. Cox is a graduate of Breathitt County High School and Hazard Community and Technical College. He is the son of Jeanna and Gywin Cox. Brown graduated from Perry County Central High School. He is the son of Dirby Brown and Angela Dials.

“I’m proud of our two graduates,” said Station 13 Commanding Officer, Captain Jennifer Sandlin. “They fill critical positions at Post 13 and are essential to ensuring that we meet the needs of our communities,” she said.

After each course, the “Charlotte Tanner Valedictorian Award” is given to the graduate who achieved the highest GPA and demonstrated extraordinary effort during the KSP Telecommunications Academy. The award is named in honor of the founder of the KSP telecommunications programme, Charlotte Tanner, who served the Commonwealth for over 50 years as a telecommunications operator, radio room supervisor and instructor. This year, the Charlotte Tanner Valedictorian Award was presented to Darrie Parker, of Post 2, with a cumulative grade point average of 99.67%.

To apply for a telecommunication position with KSP, visit, or contact the KSP position nearest you for more information.